Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Hello Perth und Wiedersehen Nr. 3

    April 2, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    The flight to Perth was entertaining and very interesting thanks to Angie, a Professor from Florida. We somehow ended talking until 2am in the morning, then sleep was stronger then me, I passed out some but the conversation continued from 4.30am on. I really hope to see her again, maybe in July when I am in the US.
    Perth greeted me with sunshine and warm temperature. The very friendly Uberdriver tried to talk me into settling down as a doctor in Australia and also recommended to find a partner as soon as possible for very important evening hugs. "Then the day just ends a little bit better."
    He drove me to Fremantle where Olimpia lives. I met her in the Piscine in Neuchâtel where I was her coach for some time. That was more then ten years ago. She married Tom, an Australian and it was just wonderful to see her again! I met also Lea, her five month old daughter, my cuddling partner for the next days. We had breakfast and then went to King's Park where Tom met some former students. The park is huge with incredible playgrounds for kids. As a so-called adult you're really tempted to just try them out. I probably will on my next visit. After some lunch we watched Footy. Rough sport with guys dressed like in the Seventies. The ones from Fremantle are not doing well. They lost, we do not mention the score here. Next Saturday I will be able to watch a game at the Stadium, how cool is that!
    Two times a year a crossing from Fremantle to Rottnest Island takes place. You can do it as a team or by yourself. Which Olimpia already did a couple of years ago. To be clear, it's 20km openwater swimming. Yes. Swimming. So tonight they had a meeting, respectively a BBQ at the house of one of the team mates to watch some pictures of the last crossing. I met great people, all tanned, fit, sporty, funny just giving me a perfect first night in Australia.
    Read more