Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Mt. Taranaki, worlds prettiest volcano

    May 6, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Andrew and Yvonne had planned a visit at a friends in Taranaki and i wanted to head to New Plymouth anyway so we did the journey together. I was looking forward visiting this place again, I had such a good time there five years ago and I just love this volcano which seems just being dropped there and forgotten. While driving we could see it in all its beauty with some snow on the top. In the Maori saying the volcanos were fighting over a female volcano and only one won so the others, as Taranaki, had to go as far away as possible from them. Poor volcano.
    I checked in at the Fitzroy holiday park. The beach there is known to be a very good surf spot. I walked all the way at the coast to rock Paritutu. The view is still beautiful as it was a couple of years ago. Mt. Taranaki was hidden behind clouds, but not this evening on my walk on the black sand beach during sunset. And i met a Saint Bernard. Big drooling dog of 70kg.
    Read more