Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Sunday (I need names for titles)

    May 8, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Today I will head off to Hawke's Bay where Darran lives, looking forward seeing him again! Yesterday I spent the last day with Yvonne and Andrew, starting with a delicious breakfast at 'le petit Paris', owned by French and it was newly opened five years ago. Talia, Yvonnes best friend, Chris and their three month old daughter Arabelle were there, too. We had a walk in the surroundings of New Plymouth and then it was time to say au revoir to my two awesome friends, which made those days in New Zealand unforgettable. It's always a sad thing to say goodbye but at least with a goodbye, there is a hello again to come. I hope they will manage visit me in Europe. Otherwise I just have to fly back to New Zealand.
    On my way home i met Bob, a 66 year old. He was sitting in a wheelchair, we started to chat and had a long conversation. He had an accident 6 years ago and is incompletely paralized at Th12. He told me how he managed to deal with his handicap and I was very impressed. He told me that when he was in Rehab, there was a sign in the dining room which said: 'Don't let the thing you can't do stop you from the things you can do." He hated this quote from Ronald Reagan, he was so angry at this time but at the same time it became a bit his way of seeing life. It's all about compromising. He doesn't have problems anymore but challenges. And to the question if the glass is half full or half empty, he says, maybe the glass is just too small. What a wonderful man.
    In the evening Andrew (another one) cooked diner for me because he looked at my soup the evening before and said, he wouldn't feed that to his dog. I said then that I am better in making dessert, so then we had a deal. He cooked diner and we had mousse au chocolat for dessert. Charline, a french girl, joined and we had a wonderful evening.
    Read more