Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Wiedersehen Nr. 9

    May 9, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    The journey to Havelock North was scenic and with little traffic only. When I arrived I decided to have another swim after this 5.5h drive. I landed in the Ocean Spa, where you can swim in a 25m pool outside. It was beautiful with the stars and the moon coming out as it was getting dark. In the changing room I saw this girl again who was so fast so I told her that I was pretty impressed. Turns out she was part of the NZ-swimteam until last year. Her parents emigrated from the Netherlands 20 year ago. Her cousin lives in Switzerland and is married to Claudia, a nurse with whom I worked in Zweisimmen with! How small can the world be!
    After that I drove to Darran's house. He is a doctor aswell, met him in New Plymouth five years ago. I had a wonderful welcome and a lovely diner with him and his partner Bevan.
    Today I walked to Cap Kidnapper. I had to start early because of tides since the walk is only possible when low tide. It is a nesting point for gannets and some of them where still there before heading to warmer places in winter. On my way I met a Maori couple which went free diving. They caught some big crayfishes, Paua and Kina, a sea urchin and I could taste the last one. You can eat it raw in just opening it. The Maori eat everything, he gave me just the orange thing to eat. It has a spongy, glibbery texture, tastes at the same time a bit sweet, salty and milky. I think I like it.
    Now I will take a shower and go for a coffee with Lara, the swimmer, looking forward to that.
    Read more