Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Hamilton

    May 11, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌧 16 °C

    Two days of heavy rain for the whole country were announced. I decided to drive to Hamilton instead and leave the Coromandel for my next visit. After breakfast and goodbye hugs from Darran and Bevan, me and Romeo were ready to go. I love cruising around, driving through unknown landscape, listening to music, doing whatever i want (within the laws of course). This short road trip really gave me a new feeling of freedom. Very cool. Music plays a big role in the whole thing. Nothing better then to sing along loudly and badly with silly songs. There is a radio station called 'The Breeze' which offers the perfect mix: From Lambada to Britney Spears you should expect everything. You think there can't be a worse one? Don't worry, the Breeze will prove you wrong. There are advertisements, too, of course. For example Vodafone has one where they pretend to fulfill the different needs in different life situation. It says if you have a girlfriend you need more minutes because girlfriends want calls from you all the time and if you don't have a girlfriend, you need more data for dating sites. Aha. Makes perfectly sense.
    I arrived at the holiday park and decided to go to the cinema. When I bought the ticket I asked if it was crowded because there was no seat number on the ticket. Turned out it was a private movie session for me. I watched Handsome devil, an Irish movie, funny, heartwarming with a good message and a happy end. Exactly what I needed. Later on I found a pub with another quiz night on and the guys that 'adopted' me were not only very cool but also very smart. They won! It was a wonderful evening and I will miss those nights out. I can't believe that my time in New Zealand is soon coming to an end and that the next destination will be Tahiti. Tahiti! And #borabora! Finally!
    Read more