Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    Moorea

    May 16, 2017 in French Polynesia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Sunday night me and my hungry state were rescued by Teui, my host, and a pizza. Monday morning I woke up very early. The days lasts around 12h with the sun out from 6 to 6. For me as a morning person this is perfect. I had to get on the scooter to get food since my room is on a hill. I've never driven a scooter before. Teui showed me how it worked. I think he was a bit worried by my driving skills (mängisch bini ächt e depp) but I made it into town. I went on the market first to buy some fruits and had a coffee and une galette de poissons for breakfast. I didn't really know what to do next even more because there were some threatening grey clouds coming in. I decided to get some information about diving and drove to the Intercontinental, where the dive company is. I bought ten dives, so I can also dive at some places when I am on my cruise. They figured out that I needed a refresher and could not do that on Wednesday while diving with the sharks. So they ask me if I wanted to do it now? As in half an hour? Yup. I was all in, literally. So I had a nice wreck dive with two ships and a plane and lot's of fishes. I am way more interested in living things. So I am very looking forward for the dives to come. The water temperature is 28 degree. I was nevertheless freezing when I got out of the water at 3:30h, no wonder with no food in me. I was so hungry I could have eaten a whole buffet. I restricted myself to two chocolate éclairs right away.
    The last picture is from the place I am at the very moment, enjoying a fresh pineapple juice after a first bath at Temae beach and watching the fishes. The beauty of this island can't be put in words. It's right as it is in the catalogue, just better because I am actually there. Tina recommended to take the first ferry at 6:30 which I did. With the scooter. So now I am driving around the island grinning like a fool because it's just marvelous.
    Read more