Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    Hiva Oa

    May 25, 2017 in French Polynesia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    It is already the 27th of May while writing this and I am messing up the days in my head so I don't really remember exactly what we have done this day. What I know is that I almost had some tummy muscle ache so much I was laughing. I spent the day with Denis and Manu. Those two are such fun and kind, it is a pleasure to get to know them. We visited Hiva Oa. It is the island where Gaugin and Brel spent their last years on. The villages they lived in we visited on 26th. On 25th we visited the biggest Tiki of the Marquases. Unfortunately since they haven't written down their customs, stories and tradition so the 120 years under strict catholic rules almost all the history of those people is gone. There is only interpretation left. So actually 'white archeologists' are teaching the marquesas their cultures which is bizarre and seems wrong. In the afternoon we went to another small village and walked around, picking ripe mangos from the street and eating them straight away, they are so delicious. We have a lot of rain due to El Nino/ El Nina (depends who you aks) which was very bad. So the harvesting was bad since the fruits are rotting. Climate change also affect the people here.Read more