Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 110

    Washington, a big pleasant surprise

    July 8, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    I landed after a very short night in the plane at the airport of the capital. After dropping off my luggage and a second coffee I decided to visit the Newseum which is a very interesting, well made and interacting museum. It is one of the rare ones you have to pay entry fee but it's valid the other day, too. It is totally worth it.
    Since I was so tired I called it an early night and went again today. I also visited the Hirshhorn, which has an exhibition on Ai Weiwei. He built with Lego more then 170 portraits of people being held or were in prison because of political reasons. It made quite an impact on me.
    All in all Washington is very neat place, you can walk or bike everything easily even more on such a nice day as we have today.
    Funny thing: Not many people pay cash here - I do and as you get back the change I either give it as a tip or put it right back into my purse. I never check it, so now I have a coin from Fidji, one from Canada and one from Mexico in addition 😊
    Read more