Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Madrid

    April 1 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    We had 1 full day in Madrid, and like the clowns that we are, we slept in until 12. We were pretty slow moving after the pubcrawl yesterday. It took us a while, but we went to a Café for some good eats and decided we wanted to go to Parque De El Retiro. We easily could've spent all day there just walking around. We checked out Palacio de Cristal in the park as well. Unfortunately, it was temporarily closed so we couldn't go inside, but just outside of it there was a nice pond with fish, turtles, black swans, ducks and whatever else. The sun was finally out today, so we just took a minute to lay in the grass and just chill, which was really nice. I think it made both of us more tired though lol. We wondered around for a little while more until we were hungry again. We stopped at a little shop for a sandwich and went back to the hostel to just chill out before the free sangria. Pearse wanted to have a chill night and relax because we have an early train tomorrow, so I went to the free sangria and pub crawl with some people from the hostel. I ended up meeting up with some of the people from last night's pubcrawl. We went to the same bars as the previous night. Last night, I saw there was neon face paint but didn't get any, so tonight I had to. The last place we went to was the only place we didn't go to yesterday. It's called Shoko nightclub. It's 3 stories tall, and there were over 3000 people there! At some point, I was waiting in line for a drink, and the lady at the bar got up on the bar and started pouring some sorta pink hard liquor. It kinda looked like baby birds with everyone's head back and mouths open lol. I got a healthy amount in my mouth, but I'm wearing more of it than I drank. I couldn't believe they were just dumping bottles out. At some point in the night, somebody was dancing next to me and hit me pretty good on my eyebrow with his glass, hard enough the glass broke. After my new Greek friends had a "word" with him, the party kept going. It wasn't till I was walking home that my friend Thanos told me my eyebrow was cut. I'm glad he took a pretty classic photo for me lol. I'd say it was a pretty chill night, nothing too crazy lmaoRead more