Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    France!

    April 5 in France ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Today, we woke up at 5am. We had to catch the train to go to the hotel for our guided tour! To be honest, the first couple hours with the entire group I was really overwhelmed. There's 40 names we need to remember, and the guide was kinda pushy about the excursions we need to pay for. As the day went on, though, we slowly started meeting some new people and getting to know them. We left Barcelona at 8:00 and started driving to France. For some reason, neither of us thought it would be a good idea to eat before we left. Even though we knew we'd be traveling almost all day. Luckily, at the first small town inside of France, we stopped to grab some sandwiches. We're in brie country so you know I had to get a brie sandwich. Some random check stop on the side of the highway had the best sandwich yet! After 45 minutes, we packed onto the coach again to start heading for Nice, France. After two more hours, we stopped in the town Van Gogh lived in when he cut his ear off and went crazy. We learned the entire community wanted him to leave, which he did on his own terms. I really hope we get to learn more about that crazy mf on this trip. You gotta be crazy to be as talented, I think. In this small town there is a small colleseum! Pearse and I were walking around with a guy named Nick. We sorta accidentally snuck into this coliseum for free lol. We just walked in through the exit. The lady at the desk couldn't give a shit lol. We walked around for about 30 minutes before getting a coffee. I paid for all 3 of our Americanos, which came out to 5€. I handed the lady a 50 dollar bill. She gave me 65 back in change! I swear I'm honest, and at home, I'd definitely say something, but I'm on vacation and need all the money I can get lol. Basically, she bought our first drinks tonight lol. So we ripped this little town off twice in 45 minutes. We got back on the coach for the last 3 hours of our nine hour drive. The last hour and a bit we drove up the coast of France! When I was awake, I honestly thought it was some of the most beautiful scenery ever! We had the mountains to our left and the ocean to our right. I'm so happy the tour guide likes music and has it on the whole time because I need music, and my left earbud is dodgy. People sing along and just talk almost the whole time. It might get old after a while, but it made me feel more comfortable. Everyone seems like they get along really well! When we finally made it to the hostel, we started some laundry, showered and right out the door to our included dinner. We had beef stew and mashed potatoes. At first I was disappointed it was beef stew but it turned out to be delicious. I told a stupid story from lisbon everyone thought was pretty funny and managed to finish two other peoples stew lmao. I felt so bad for the employees though because there's 40 of us and english is their second language lol. We had to be at our bar for 10:15 to celebrate our new friend, Nicks, birthday. In this bar we could stand on the tables and do whatever we wanted really lol. They had some live music that was awesome. These guys performed all night and the crowd loved all of it. We were banging on the roof and singing, dancing and chanting random shit between songs. It was 30000 degrees inside though, we were absolutely drenched in sweat lol. I had so much fun with our new friends! Once the guys were done performing we made our first mistake in France. We left the bar to find a new one with some other hostel mates. We didn't end up finding anywhere other than a gay bar. I'm definitely good on that. So we went back to the hostel with some other guys. We went to the basement and had a ping-pong tourney. We're gonna get up early and go walking with some people from out hostel along the beach of Nice and see what's up. I was so stressed and overwhelmed this morning but after our first full day with the crew I already feel so much better!Read more