Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 40

    Brač island

    30 avril, Croatie ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    After having a good night with a bunch of other Canadians, we all made plans to go to Brač for the day and hang out on the famous Golden Horn Beach. It was about an hour long ferry over to the island, and we found cheap tickets. €12 round trip. Once Pearse and I got up, we went to a Café near the port and met up with the Edmontonian lady. She was suffering pretty badly from a hangover, so she ended up bailing on the island to go to the beach we had already spent two days at. It turns out everyone was suffering pretty bad because Pearse and I were the only ones to make it onto the ferry. We got to the island around 2:00. We needed to take a taxi 30 minutes to the other side of the island. The taxis were asking for €80 to get to the beach, so we found a group of people and asked if they'd split a ride there with us. It worked out pretty well. It was only €10 per person. When we got off, we asked for their number so we could arrange a time we all wanted to leave so we could do the same thing later. We went our separate ways for a little while. Pearse and I grabbed a beer and set up camp on the beach. The water was beautiful here. I don't know how it was clearer and more blue than the water at the last beach, but somehow it was. It was pretty hot out, so we went for a swim and dried off on the beach. I had a little nap on the beach again. I woke up absolutely starving, so we packed our things and went for dinner. I picked a restaurant off Google maps that was about a 25 minute walk from where we were. As Pearse and I were talking about how we were worried, the group wouldn't wait for us and taxi back without us. We realized they were walking right in front of us. We stopped them and asked them not to leave without us, to which they agreed again. We continued our walk down the beautiful coast line to get to our restaurant. As soon as we got to the restaurant, I had to pee so bad, so I ran to the bathroom, which was in its own building, separate from the restaurant and used the urinal. After I flushed, I realized all my pee and water was pouring all over the floor. The pipes were completely missing, and i didn't even realize. I felt so bad. It made me feel even worse when I left the bathroom and found out the only people working in this restaurant are an old married couple who have run this restaurant themselves for almost 60 years. The lady cooked, waited, cleaned, and did everything. She was so sweet. A family next to us asked for salt and pepper, and it totally offended her. She said she had already put some on, and the family insisted. When she brought it to them, she said only a little and watched them put it on lol. She later came over to us to explain she doesn't use any electricity to cook any of the food. Everything was done over a fire. This was definitely the most authentic meal we've had on this trip. I brought it back to my childhood and ordered an entire fish with some potatoes. I remember loving it in Mexico, and if I was going to eat a fish anywhere, I think this restaurant was the place to do it. This one held up as well. It was so good. The bones weirded me out a little more than when I was a kid, though. Im so happy we ended up at this restaurant, so far thos is my favorite dining experience of the trip!While we were eating, the group of people started messaging me and rushing us. They wanted to catch the next ferry out. We told them we were about to go to dinner, and 20 minutes later, they were telling us to hurry. Pearse and i didn't even have our food yet, so we weren't going to have time. We asked if they'd be fine with taking the next ferry, which was only an hour later. They said sure but continued to rush us through our dinner. I totally thought they were gonna leave us. They had enough where the taxi would still be affordable. For just Pearse and I, it would have been extortionate. We quickly finished up and met them at the taxi where we got our ride back to the port. Stuffed from dinner and drained from the sun, Pearse and I were pretty much ready for bed. We had a really early flight the next day. We're heading to Morocco!En savoir plus