衛星
マップで表示する
  • 日41

    Split to Marrakech

    5月1日, モロッコ ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Today, we're leaving Europe to go to Africa. I've been so excited about this for a while now. My flight home leaves from lisbon so I wanted to finish my trip somewhere close to Lisbon but I didn't know where. I'm not ready to go back to a place i've already been to. I was talking to my parents about my dilemma, and my dad brought up Morocco and told me about a camel tour through the Sahara desert. Immediately, I was sold. Pearse just decided a couple of days ago that he wanted to do it as well. Now, here we are in Marrakech, Morocco. Our flight out of Split was at 10 am. To get to the airport it was about an hour long bus ride. I guess the Split airport is very small because we got everything sorted and at our gate really fast. This is the first time ever I've had an entire row to myself on my flight, so I really enjoyed that. Our connecting flight was back in Gatwick, where we had a three hour layover. I totally forgot to check my bag and brought it through security. We were in the duty free area when I realized I fucked up. So I sat for three hours worried I was gonna get fined for asking them to put it under the plane at the gate. We had an extremely overpriced burrito and tried to chill out. When we got to our gate, I realized it was really simple, and they had no problem tagging it and putting it on for me. I gave it to a young guy who told me he'd do it for me, but he was super busy. I just left it on the ground beside him and prayed he actually remembered. We had about four hours from London to Marrakech. I distracted myself by grinding out 5 find penguins posts on the plane. When we landed, it was 7:00. We got off the plane and started walking to customs in the airport. There was a window looking down from the terminal to customs where we saw this huge crowd of people waiting in line. By the time we got down there, it was even more full. Neither of us knew this airport would be so busy. We waited in line for over an hour just to get through customs. The entire time in line I was just thinking ablut my bag. When we got to the booth, there were 4 questions taped to the window, the reason for traveling, the address of accommodation, the length of stay, and occupation. There was no wifi working, and neither of us had a Moroccon sim, so it was very high stress finding some of that information and proof of the information. When we finally got through security. They'd already taken my flight off the screen, so I had no idea which belt my bag was on. I ended up finding a couple of British dudes with the same problem, and we ended up finding the belt together. There, my bag was going in circles. I bought a sim card at the booth, and Pearse decided he would get an esim tomorrow and just use my Hotspot for the night. We got on the bus to the stop closest to pur hostel. The hostel was right outside the city Square, where a huge music festival was happening. I had no idea this was taking place, especially so close to the hostel. The crowds were insane. There were so many people everywhere. Immediately, I could see how different this place was to anything I've ever seen. Trying to maneuver through the busy streets with our backpacks on was sucked so much. There was barely enough room to walk, let alone people riding motorcycles through the crowds. Once we got off the busy street, we realized how confusing it was to get to the hostel. Not even google Maps could figure it out. We walked down dark, quiet streets for almost another hour. We finally got to the hostel at 930 at night. We checked in and went looking for our first taste of Moroccon food. We saw a restaurant outside the music festival and wanted to check the menu, so we started walking over, and a guy asked me if I wanted hash. I said no and asked the guy in front of the menu if I could take a look. He opened it for me, over my shoulder. The guy who tried selling me hash was asking if we wanted a drink at the restaurant. I was kind of shocked. This man, who's front of house at the restaurant, tried selling me drugs as his side hustle and a minute later was pointing me to the other side of the restaurant where we could drink. I mean, a brothers gotta do what he's gotta do. Pearse and I sat down and had some Tagine, which I found delicious. We enjoyed the music and the service at the restaurant it was a really good first experience in Africa for me. Soon after, we went to bed in the most uncomfortable bed known to man.もっと詳しく