Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Day 16 Padrón to Santiago de Compostela

    May 8 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Ultrea

    An official 290km done, Porto to Santiago de Compostela, arriving on my birthday as planned.

    The day was scheduled to be hot, hot, hot, so with that in mind we set out early. Soon we were joined more and more people as we all excitedly walked to our final destination - Santiago de Compostela. It was one of my nicest days of walking - gently uphill, through little tiny villages and woods. We were lucky enough to get our first stamp of the day at a church that was literally opening as we walked past; I met a lady from Funchal who spotted me from the patch on my backpack; we stopped for coffee/orange juice whenever we could; and soon we were within sight of the cathedral over the hills.

    It was a hard 25km - my ankle held up just long enough for us to make it, and thanks to Paul’s support and my sturdy walking poles, we did it.
    Strangely emotional reaching the city, and had to take a moment when we sat down in the square before going off to collect our credentials. Seems odd to think there is no more walking to do. This is all I’ve been doing since the 22nd April - walking or planning the next day’s walk and now there is nothing.

    Met up with Sasha and Rita for dinner, and turns out that due to it being Ascension Thursday, the whole place is having a party! Clearly they knew we were coming.

    So happy to have done it!
    For the last time ¡Buen Camino!
    Read more