Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Day 36 - To Sarria

    October 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    Day 36 - To Sarria
    26 kms; Difficulty 2/3
    23°C

    I mentioned yesterday how small Biduedo is (pop 31). Well it’s basically just a farm with a few extra buildings. In fact all the towns that I went through today were like that. I was dodging cow manure all day! The picture of the cow was within one of those towns.

    Today the trail was the final major descent. And I’m glad. It was really hard on my knees…..and I have good knees! I can’t imagine how those with “bad knees“ managed. I suspect many of them jumped head by taxi. I know some did.

    As shown above, today is day 36. Pretty well everyone who does Camino Francis, IF they walk the full way, will take more than a month. Of course there is a way to do it faster and that’s to “jump ahead” by taking a taxi, bus or even horse to subsequent parts of the trail. I think I can safely say that pretty much everyone I met either jumped ahead already or plans to. They do it for various reasons…..injuries, illness, time constraints, and some pre-plan to only do a portion of the Camino. And that’s fine. To each his own. Everyone does the Camino as they choose. None is wrong because it’s their Camino. I have chosen to walk the whole way. I honestly can’t think of anyone that I have met who walked every step.

    I stopped at a place that offered snacks by donativo (donation). It was an interesting place. They had several signs and there was a meditation group chanting off to the side.

    And I finally made it to Sarria. Everything hurt again. Going downhill is not easy!!?
    Read more