Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Roncesvalles to Zubiri

    September 10, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    So, I’m going to start with a tiny bit about yesterday. I walked from Orrison to Roncesvalles. It was wonderful, but hard! I got in line at the Roncesvalles municipal aubergue where I had reserved a bed. When I reached the front of the line, I proudly handed over my pilgrim passport and announced my name. I was told I didn’t have a reservation, so I got out my phone and showed the woman my confirmation, at which point she said, “this is for tomorrow night” (I know). We’ll, lucky for me, they still had beds. However, those who arrived without a reservation were relegated to the basement…. OK - fine. But as I kept descending endless staircases, things grew progressively damper and colder. I wound up on a bottom bunk in a room with probably 20 other people - and it was freezing. And, I had decided to dump my sleeping bag in favor of my much lighter sleeping bag liner. So, I slept in a rusty bunk in my long undies, pants, wool socks, and my down jacket….. It felt a little like I was on the set of a remake of one flew over the cuckoo’s nest….

    I actually slept great and headed to Zubiri this morning. Today was amazing! It was so cold this morning, but got way up into the 80s. It was sunny and so beautiful…… I can’t adequately describe this experience. I walked with so many different people and heard so many amazing stories….

    But the one that sticks is my conversation with a woman from CA who lost her son less than 5 months ago to a drug overdose. Those of you who know me well, know of my connections - both professional and very personal - to this issue. I listened with awe and admiration to this woman’s story. And was flooded with a profound feeling of gratitude for the opportunity to hear her story and reflect on my journey…..

    More to come.
    Read more