Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    I’m back…

    October 1, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    I am finally past the meseta….. I did, in fact, lose my mind, but many who know me might say this is my “normal” state. I will also say though, that I had so much fun during that section. Part of losing one’s mind it turns out, is random hysteria. I was with the most fun group of people, and as each of us lost it, we would find ourselves laughing hysterically.

    I have also reached the point where I run into people I have met previously virtually every day. And each time that happens, it feels like you are reuniting with a loved one you haven’t seen in ages. For example, I just got to tonight’s albergue and saw 3 young girls from Korea who I had traveled with for days, and then lost for a week or so. We were so happy to see each other!

    I am also loving the pilgrim dinners. Especially on the meseta where there are very few stores and no restaurants, pilgrims gather for a community dinner. It’s such a treat after walking all day. Again, there is usually a lot of laughter and you literally meet people from around the world. Last night, we were discussing why we decided to do the Camino. And it finally came to me. I just said, “I have a lot to let go of.” And for the first time I knew that was it!

    More to come…….
    Read more