Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Portomarin

    October 9, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    I have been walking for over a month, and I’ve covered over 435 miles….. In fact, today we passed the 100 km marker - less than 100 kms to go. I think I’ll get to Santiago on 10/16, so only 6 more days of walking. It is all so surreal……

    You truly lose track of days, dates, day of the week, etc….. But a few days ago, I hit O Cebreiro, which I believe is the highest point on the Camino. It was a tough day - quite the climb. But so worth it. I truly felt like I was on the top of the world. The village is tiny, with old stone buildings lining the narrow streets. It was like being in a hobbit village. And earlier that day, I met 2 men from Australia. We chatted and realized that we knew some of the same people. When I arrived in O Cebreiro, I got a text from Steve - the retired ER doctor who had helped me out when I was sick - many weeks ago. And he was with Deepika, who I’d befriended a while back. They met up with me, and we had a wonderful dinner with a huge group! And now, we (me, Steve and Deepika) have rented apartments for the remainder of the walk. I am sitting now in our beautiful living room, having just done laundry in a real washing machine (I will never again take my washing machine for granted. I also showered and had a real towel to dry off, and I’m not sleeping in a bunk bed!

    It’s also lovely because both Steve and Deepika walk faster than me, so I am greeted every afternoon when I arrive, and I get to shower right away…..

    I have been walking with a variety of people. Yesterday, we had our first full day of rain (really can’t complain). I walked with Emily - it was actually quite beautiful. We are walking through beautiful forests and the views are astounding. Today was gorgeous. I walked with Sheila from Australia and Lydia from Croatia - both friends I made earlier on. There were more forests and farmland, and TONS more people. We left Sarria this morning, which is the last town one can leave from and still get a compostela in Santiago. It’s a certificate that pilgrims can get, but you have to walk a minimum of 100 kms. It was a little overwhelming to see so many people on the trail, but really, it is just different.

    I still want to pinch myself - I feel so fortunate to be doing this. Even the struggles and hard parts are so rewarding. I have learned so much. For example, in the US, we know so little about history. To walk through these towns and villages and see castles, museums, and relics from the Middle Ages (and before) is so profound. And what you learn about yourself is priceless. And the access to people from across the world - of every age, ethnicity, color, etc is amazing……
    Read more