Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Fitz Roy & Cerro Torre

    January 20, 2020 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    After El Calafate I arrived in El Chaltén. A village build due to its close proximity to Los Glaciares National Park. This park is considered the hiking capital of Patagonia.
    For Kathy and Frasisco this was the final destination of their holidays. Therefore we took the same Bus to get there. Once we arrived we decided to meet on the next day in the park. So I went to bed to recharge my battery which was extremely low after the „W“ and Perito Moreno.

    On the very next day I rented some gear and hiked to the camping where my friends were supposed to hike too in the early morning. We caught up in the middle of the hike and once more we were united and ready to discover the park.

    On our first hike we aimed for Fitz Roy. After some steep passages we managed to reach the top. I could already feel that we were all utterly exhausted.

    The second day was supposed to be Cerro Torre. My Amigos already knew it would be another big challenge to master. Fitz Roy as the main attractions in the park was done, Frasisco therefore told me that they will leave the park today instead of sleeping another night here. That said we wished us a safe journey and went our ways.
    Read more