Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 301

    Jericoacoara

    October 26, 2020 in Brazil ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Jericoacoara aka. Jeri is is a small touristic kitesurfing hot spot surrounded by huge sand dunes and the Atlantic Ocean. Due to its fame people all over the world are found in the uncountable Pousadas, Hostels and Luxury Resorts.

    We write the day of October 26, three months back Brazil opened its airports for international tourism. Some Europeans have already made their way to Brazil and it seems most of them went for Jericoacoara. The language on the street was French and English. No doubt Brazilians were clearly the majority.

    On my first day I took some stunning photos of the sunset whereas the second day was dedicated for a dune walk and the inspection of Pedra Furada (Stone Arch). That was already enough for my taste. I asked a bunch of transport agencies if it’s possible to go directly to Barreirinhas, the main gate to the Lençóis Maranenses National Park. Unfortunately prices were higher than expected and most agencies couldn’t provide any cars heading there on the following day.

    On day three I woke up quite early to catch one of the first public shuttles to Jijoca. After I had left the desert behind I entered a small bus to Camocim where I then took another bus to Parnaíba and from there another minibus to Tutoya. I spent about 4 hours in Tutoya waiting for the next bus going to Barreirinhas where I almost forgot to leave. In the end of the day I arrived in Barreirinhas and checked into the hostel a couple minutes after midnight.
    Read more