Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 345

    Santarém

    December 9, 2020 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    I felt so much safer in Santarém compared to Manaus. I even went to the harbor at night to take some photos of the Christmas lights.

    Once more the owner of my hostel was absolutely accommodating. I arrived at midnight in his place and told him that I only ate 11 bananas in the last 34 hours on the way here. He immediately opened iFood and asked me if I want extra bacon on my hamburger. ☺️

    After a restful night, in a real bed - no more hammocks - I went to the breakfast table where Erivan’s little elf had prepared some delicious food. Erivan asked me what I’m going to do here. I explained that I’m on my way to Rio but before heading there I’ll pick up some Christmas gifts in Fortaleza. He told me if I have the time I should really visit Alter do Chão. Well I had nothing else to do so I went to this place. One hour by public bus.

    Alter do Chão is where everyone goes to have some nice beach feeling. The huge river Tapajós turns into a lake (Lago Verde) and during low tide the shallow water heats up pretty fast and becomes almost a hot tub. I enjoyed a ice cold beer at the beach and spent roughly an hour there before the weather changed.
    Read more