Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 588

    Ometepe

    August 9, 2021 in Nicaragua ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Happy beginning ended deplorably.
    My two new friends and I arrived at the island of Ometepe after a short bus journey from San Juan del Sur. We rented a scooter for 15 dollars per day and drove to the other side of the volcano Concepción. We found a nice accommodation with enough room for all of us.
    Day of arrival was sunny and hot whereas the second day unfortunately turned into a rainy day. We were still able to visit a nice lagoon and a relaxing beach with a swing. Later this day my company made me feel pretty uncomfortable and therefore I decided to leave them behind in the early morning on the day after.
    It was 6 am. and I was on the way to a natural reserve. Once I arrived there I realized that the whole reserve was closed. I didn’t think twice and just sneaked into the property. I walked through beautiful flower alleys towards a lagoon. I started surrounding the lagoon when I suddenly found myself in the middle of at least 20 monkeys. At this early time of the day the monkeys were super active. A reverberating concert of howler monkeys made
    Read more