Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 604

    Rio Dulce

    August 25, 2021 in Guatemala ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    The hurricane meeting point.
    Rio Dulce lays between a lake and a wide river which leads to the Caribbean Sea. During my two nights staying in Rio Dulce I met 4 different sailing crews. Either of them told me the same story. We came here to pass through the hurricane season. It seems to be a famous shelter for all the fancy American sailors.
    After meeting those humble people I started picturing myself discovering all those plentiful islands in the Caribbean Sea as a crew member of one of those big Catamarans just like the ones which were anchored in the bay of Rio Dulce.

    However after this short imaginary detour I made my way back to reality where I decided to visit a thermal waterfall. Casacadas Calientes El Paraíso is located on the lake Izabal 30 minutes outside from Rio Dulce and even it’s not very famous, I met a bunch of foreign tourists who treated themselves with a thermal shower.
    Read more