Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 622

    San Marcos de Laguna

    September 12, 2021 in Guatemala ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    San Marcos is a 5 minute boat ride from San Pedro and it is much smaller, calmer and relaxing.

    I spent my second night in this place aiming at visiting a road which leads up a mountain. I thought to see an amazing meandering road. But after a 2 hour hike to this place there was no such road visible, not only through the heavy rain but also because the forest covered it all.

    I was happy with my 20k steps when I arrived back in town and spent the rest of the rainy and cold day in my hostel deep inside the forest.

    When I checked the altitude of the following place I planed to visit, I started having doubts about staying there for a long time. Lake Atitlan is located on a height of 1500 meters above the sea. Quetzaltenango aka. Xela was with its 2300m higher and colder than Lake Atitlan. Nevertheless I wanted to go there to see another rather bigger city of Guatemala.

    I watched some YouTube videos to learn some cool expressions in Tz’utujil and enjoyed my last night in San Marcos before I moved on to Xela.
    Read more