Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 634

    Tulum

    September 24, 2021 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    A sweat lodge with some nice north Mexican native language songs and prayers.

    After a somewhat annoying border crossing day I finally arrived in Tulum at late night. A drunken French Volunteer did my check-in and I joint some people on the roof too bar to end my day with some cold beers.

    The next day I could already do some sightseeing by joining a Belgian couple in their rental car.

    In almost every corner are some taco vendors or other delicious food stands. This makes Mexico already a total different experience and I am very happy to finally have arrived in this beautiful country.

    I spent 3 nights in Tulum and certainly had a decent increase of my alcohol consumption. But I was fortunate when a bearded American guy invited me to join the Temazcal ritual on Sunday morning. We were almost 40 people sitting in a little stone house not high enough to stand up and without any windows. When the small door was closed the ceremony master started with some prayers followed by native songs and then they opened the door and brought some hot stones inside which were heated up in a fire station outside. With herbs and vaporized water the first out of for steam sessions started. 2 hours later the ritual ended and everybody came out half dizzy half dehydrated, craving for water and a cold shower. The swat lodge was hot, super hot and the duration was almost too long. Luckily nobody fainted in this packed little stone cave. Some people even had a spiritual outtake of this session. I heard people a reading, crying but almost everybody supported the ritual masters with singing and yelling this prayer words. The only one which I remembered was Ome-teo. I surely enjoyed this crazy Sunday morning ritual b it i was shredded for the whole way after that.
    Read more