Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 669

    Guanajuato

    October 29, 2021 in Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    So much to tell not enough enthusiasm. 🙂🙃

    I spent quite a long time in Guanajuato. Not only the famous days of the dead’s also the time before and after the grand spectacle were dedicated to discover this beautiful town.

    The town is located on 1500 meters above sea level. As it gets rather cold at night, during the day the sun let the quicksilver raising up to 25 degree Celsius. The tunnel system is what makes this place unique. The Guanajuato tunnels are a series of wide channels that extended under the city and help divert traffic away from the city centre.
    These tunnels were not primary constructed for traffic, but as a diversion for the Rio Guanajuato to prevent flooding to the early mining town.

    Días de los muertos are truly the most busiest days in México hence all touristic places are packed with people. I barely found an accommodation to stay when I arrived in this town. I was lucky though, I found a bed for one night in the very center just next to an Oxxo. I was proud of myself after I haggled the price down from 600 to 300 pesos.
    I spent most of the second day to find a new place and fortune was with me. I found an unofficial place for cheap money a bit outside the center. Even I wanted to spend the days in a very traditional village called Pátzcuaro I had a great time in Guanajuato with nice parades, beautiful tapetes on the street and crazy parties at night.
    Read more