Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 687

    ⛴ BajaFerries ⛴

    November 16, 2021 in Mexico ⋅ 🌙 23 °C

    From Sayulita I decided to go to Mazatlán to check if there are any whale watching tours. After a never ending bus journey I arrived in this rather unspectacular city where I checked in the only hostel in town for a relative high price.
    Yet I am often blessed with fortune, two lovely ladies offered me some tasty Argentinian meat stew for dinner while they were listening to my travel stories. Even the next morning I came just in time for early lunch. The ladies once again prepared some food for theirselves and another hostel guest and I was invited too. I decided to leave town and go up to Baja California del Sur, one of the most famous regions for whale watching. The ladies just like me had a bus in the early afternoon and they already ordered a driver to the bus terminal. I could share the ride with them and later on I continued my trip to Los Mochis. The bus arrived 2 hours late and I had 45 minutes left to make my way from Los Mochis to Topolobampo where the ferry towards Baja California del Sur departed. The Uber finally arrived after 10 minutes waiting and I made it to the ferry 5 minutes before departure. I bought the ticket hopped on the ship and tried to sleep. Too many kids were screaming and yelling even it was already midnight. The ferry left the harbor one and a half hour late but since I read the review I already knew that departure time at 24.00 is more like a recommended hour.

    Nevertheless I made it to La Paz.
    Read more