Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Finally to Helsinki

    August 15, 2017 in Denmark ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I managed to sleep most of the 12 hour plane flight so feeling reasonably human again. I did end up stiff and sore from cramped seat for that long. I was keen to get the compression stickings off too, did the job but firm behind the knee.
    Well, I have to admit, at times when I was really tired and very sore from sitting in the one place for so long I wondered what the hell I was doing on my own and amongst foreigners (probably in the Singapore airport). In Copenhagen airport, waiting to get to Helsinki I had a huge smile on my face and felt comfortable and good.
    I finally got into Helsinki 5pm local time, grabbed a taxi to get to hotel as I was knackered and couldn't be fussed with cheaper bus etc. It cost me 49€ but well worth it.
    My room is small and a single bed but all I need, a total luxury after sleeping in plane cattle class!! The name of the hotel is Cumulus and the ceiling is painted with a cloudy sky 😆 I love it!
    I wandered, out at 6 to take a look and find some tea. So far it looks lovely, I'll explore tomorrow. I found a shopping centre that had a few all-you-can-eat buffets for about €10 so I know where I'll be eating the next few nights 😉 I had a Chinese one and it was lovely.
    Then finally a shower (!💕) and bed
    Read more