Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Arlparra Clinic today

    June 13, 2019 in Australia ⋅ 🌫 23 °C

    Thursday's the clinic is closed to patients except for emergencies as nearly everyone is out in the field.
    I was rostered to go to Arlparra, the town, with 2 other nurses and a doctor. It's usually a pretty big, busy day. We saw lots of patients today.

    I'm 1st on-call again tonight.
    At 7pm I get a call out to an outstation about 30 km and 3/4 hr away. He can't come to clinic as his car had a flat tyre, in fact it's come off the rim. The Driver, Dave and my 2nd on call, Gemma and I go in the ambulance out to Antarriginya on a shocking dirt road. Corrugations, sand, ruts and turning into a track. No wonder he lost a tyre! And it's only a 2 wheel drive sedan.
    We examine the bloke in the back of the ambulance, he's OK, needs reassurance (him and me), a bit of medical advice and he's OK to stay home.
    We get home about 9.30 pm. No more calls but I find it hard to sleep.
    Read more