Satellite
Show on map
  • First Stop: Santo Domingo

    May 25, 2022 in Dominican Republic ⋅ 🌧 26 °C

    My short one-night-stop in Santo Domingo was full of new experiences. When I arrived at the airport I went to the baggage claim, where I waited for my backpack for a very long time. By the time it arrived, I had already suffered from several heart attacks - I was so scared it wouldnt show up.
    At the „Sortida“ I met my driver Jose, who started speaking spanish with me right away, a very fast, dominican spanish.
    Before driving me to my hostel he showed me the „barrio colonial“ close to where I would stay. From the window I could se restaurants and bars full of lights with people dancing, children playing in the streets and parents sitting in front of their houses drinking and chatting. I could hear latino music accompanied by laughters and it made me so happy. The hostel looked okay from the outside but when the door was opened, I felt like stepping into an oasis after having spent several days in a desert. There were palmtrees, fairy lights and a pool which reminded me of a blue lagoon.
    I met many people that night and I was invited to join them for dinner. I went to see a bit more of the town we had crossed woth the var before. On our way back from the restaurant it started raining really bad so by the time we arrived at the hostel we were all wet like we had showered. I went to sleep and actually only woke up at 7. If i managed to bypass the jetlag remains to be seen. Next morning I woke up and met 3 german guys, Jonas, Robin and Tim and had coffee and breakfast with them. For breakfast I had watermelon and oat porridge:)
    Read more