Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Lets go South

    January 16, 2020 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Sooo I just discoverd this application and decided on starting to share my journey with my friends and everyone who is interested in what I am actually doing at the moment. (Maybe also, because I got tired of texting everyone the same stuff) --> so here we are, welcome to my journey and you can enjoy what I get to enjoy.

    I am gonna fly from Concepción to Punta Arenas. But firstly I thought I could get to know Concepción a little bit more. I did spend Christmas over there, but didn’t see that much.
    As I am travelling as a “Low-Budget-Traveller” I am always looking for cheap places to stay, but still seeking to get the most of one place. So I discovered the App “Couchsurfing”. With that App you can stay at a house of the local people for free but in return you gonna exchange some culture or language skills.
    And that first Couchsurfing experience has been great! I stayed at Pablo’s, who is a talented musician. He welcomed me super warmly from the second I entered his home. I got my own room and he is a super tidy person. He had some friends over and I got offered a drink immediately 😂 yeah, the most Chilean people I got to know love drinking! We got on super well and spoke in English and in Spanish. Then we went to a Concert where some very famous traditional band of Chile was playing. The Sun was going down and then there was this one moment where everyone started singing and waving the Chilean flag 🇨🇱! That bond was so strong and I am not sure if they even realised.
    After the concert we went back to Pablo’s house and all of us started doing music together as almost all of his friends are musicians or artists too. The time went by so quickly, but I felt amazingly happy.

    The next day I got to know Concepción a little more. A lot there is destroyed due to the protests that recently happened (still happening) in Chile. All the shops, but especially the big banks are covered and if there’s a shop not covered, all the windows are destroyed. It appeared a bit apocalyptic to me.
    Also we went to the beach nearby. Actually exactly to the point where the river Bío Bío flows into the sea. Super lovely day with perfect weather. I am actually not that keen to go I to the cold now and loose my Teint😂 but I bet the South of Chile and Argentina is gonna blow me away too.
    Read more