Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Patagonian Festivals in Puerto Natales

    January 26, 2020 in Chile ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Right, I had to leave Punta Arenas at some point, so my trip is going up north to Puerto Natales, which is the city, the closest to the famous national park “Torres Del Paine” that I wanted to visit for a long time in my life.
    During my bus journey I could see a little bit of the nature. It is rather dry down here due to the winds. So here are not many trees. You’re literally driving through nothing. No mountains, no trees. Just that yellow dry grass. But this is so impressive because it goes on for ages and ages and you can’t see a single house nor a person except for some crazy bikers that are fighting against the winds.

    I actually wanted to start working in a hostel for two weeks and that hostel owner confirmed me I could work for him for two week. But as soon as I arrived he said he had no space for me anymore and I now couldn’t work for him. After that I was really disappointed and a little bit helpless at first as I didn’t know where I could stay. So I looked on Couchsurfing again and LUCKILY there was Patricio who accepted me. Eventually the rejection of the hostel guy was the best that happened to me, because otherwise I would’ve never met Patricio and his friends.

    On the first night, we went to a traditional Patagonian festival of the jinetes. It is a little bit like rodeo, but instead of cows they do it with horses. I was rather impressed by how they could stay on the horses, but also how energetic and wild these horses were, never seen something like that before.
    After that we went out to a Club all together. Well actually just the young people, so we were like 5. We drank a lot of that drink called “Fernet”. Not really my cup of tea, but I can drink it, although I prefer Piscola or Pisco Sour 😝
    Read more