Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Hitchhiking to El Calafate and Glacier

    February 3, 2020 in Argentina ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    So I just had my first solo hitchhiking experience. Of course I am gonna choose an extra long route of 272km 😂

    First two men, working in the airport of Puerto Natales took me up to the airport. There I just waited 10 more minutes until two builders took me in a car with three wheels and their giant Bluetooth box with typical Patagonian music up to the Chilean border.
    When I was there, almost no one wanted to pass the border, so I decided on starting to walk with my backpack. I ended up walking around 10km as just motorbikes or full cars were passing me. I think there were 5 individuals passing me in one hour. So I was walking through nothing. There were even some ostriches on the field next to me running around. I felt so cut off of the world😂 and had to worry sometimes if I would even make it to another city on that day. I even considered sleeping on the side of the streets in worst case. Although I just had a sleeping bag and a mattress but no tent... so I carried on walking. I even changed my outfit in the middle of the street as it got too hot.
    And then, just after passing the Argentinian border, finally two girls in a camper took me with them for the next five hours. We got on super well and they were from Germany too! They also wanted to go to El Calafate!

    El calafate is a very cute town with a lovely center and super touristy. I enjoyed walking through the crowd and passing little souvenir shops.

    The next day I hitchhiked early in the morning to the national park “los glaciares” where I wanted to visit the glacier perito moreno! An argentinian and a Spanish man took me and Atheh even paid my entrance fee for the national park which was about 10€! So I gave them all my dulce de leche sweets in return.
    Reaching the glacier was unbelievable and magnificent!!! I’ve never seen that much stunning ice in my life. It is a huuuuuge Ice field and it reaches up to 70m of altitude. The most incredible part is that you can hear the ice cracking. That reminded me of the climate change tho, and now I want to try even harder to live more sustainable to safe our lovely planet 🌎
    Read more