Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Last day at a typical “Estancia”

    February 2, 2020 in Chile ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Firstly I wanted to stay 3 days, now I ended up staying 10. The quote “El que se apura en Patagonia, pierde el tiempo” reminds me of my situation. Which means, that you rather loose time in Patagonia when you try to rush there.

    On my last day we went to the family of Patricio that lives in the middle of nowhere in the National Park, where they have an “estancia”. It was time that the little baby cows get their mark done and I was allowed to help. So you had to ride the horses and try to catch the little cows with Lassos! you have to be very talented to ride the horse, try to swing the lasso, follow the cow and then even catch it.... too much and too difficult 😂
    It was a super cool experience and especially the nature around us was too beautiful !!!!

    At the end of the day we had an ASADO (barbecue) all together.

    Now I know some really good people in Patagonia!

    Also I ate Calafate which is a little berry, similar to a blueberry, just a little smaller. And there is this saying, that when you have eaten Calafate you sure are gonna come back to Patagonia.
    And I ate a lot of them ! 😋🍇
    Read more