Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Finally arrived at the Penang Island

    September 27, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    Today I arrived in Malaysia after a very long transfer (26 hours) to the Penang Islands (Georgetown).

    Fun fact: I met two Austrians there at dinner, where the grandma (60) and her granddaughter (19) were traveling through SE Asia for 4 months 😂.

    I also slept on a park bench at the train station because my night train left at 1:38 and I had to wait there for 7 hours. I kind of felt like a train-Station-Pennet for the first time...

    There I met Nikolas, a 36-year-old Russian who does not want to go back to Russia due to the current Russian mobilization. He also gave me very interesting insights from an anti-Putin supporter (Ukraine friends, Georgia rush and 3 days waiting at the border because mobilisation, fake elections and only ~20% are pro-Putin.

    Georgetown is known for its street art, which I saw for myself today. Just wow!! I had a very cool, funny and nice afternoon and evening with Nikola (He wanted to see my hostel, so he went straight to my dorm after I checked in.
    Read more