Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Short Stop in Ururo

    February 21, 2023 in Bolivia ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    After 16h of bus transfer I arrived in Oruro and I am taking an overnight bus to Sucre at 22:30 this night.
    It was very cold at night and we waited from 6:30-10:30 to border, which was very annoying. Also the seat of the person in front of my was damaged, so he leaned the whole drive to my knees, which was not comfortable.😂 But I slept ~11h of the drive I would say, so it was ok.

    I have seen shortly now Oruro, tupiza and Uyuni in Bolivia and now I know why this the poorest country in South America. Buildings/ houses are in a bad condition, mostly sanded streets and I hope Sucre/La Paz will be nicer🙈

    Also in the accommodation I booked for safety in Oruro, if there is no bus at the national holiday of Bolivia (today) to Sucre, would have been fully booked out. So I am Lucky to catch a bus at 22:30 today. I will arrive at 5:30.

    I ate a very nice bife the chorizo before I went to the bus station.

    Today the carnival in Oruro will be over, but it is still a lot of waterboms and spray here😂 funny. It decided very aware to skip the carnival everywhere and not to see much him, because to book everything shortly before would be crazy expensive. As well as the flight to Rio would be ~350€ one way.

    To be honest, the last few days were with a lot of bad luck connected and the transfer now with two overnight buses is also not the best. Sometimes this happens at traveling, but I would wish myself to have a better time soon.

    At least I got in touch with Sebastian and I „spoke“ with him in Spanish. Very nice guy:))
    Read more