Satelita
Pokaż na mapie
  • Dzień 4

    Tokyo: Day 4

    29 maja 2023, Japonia ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    A week before this trip, I fell down the stairs. My right ankle was swollen, and I was considering renting a wheelchair in Tokyo. Fortunately after a week of elevation and icing the ankle, I was able to walk somewhat normally.

    Last time when I injured my right ankle, the physical therapist recommended 20 minutes of walking per day. Well, that’s not going to happen this time. Tokyo is a very walkable city, and I have been walking for hours a day. Surprising, the ankle is healing, and with the support of an ankle brace, I am waking better every day! So YAY!

    Today’s breakfast was food from 7/11 right next to our hotel. Unlike those 7/11 in America, the stores here offer some great premade food options. The dumplings, the curry donuts, and the egg salad sandwiches were surprisingly good and tasty.

    We headed to a famous artisan street this morning. A stretch of 50 stores under a railway track selling all the goods made by hand. After some browsing, both Evan and I walked away with a pair of hand-made kangaroo leather shoes. If you see me wearing a pair of red leather shoes, chances are they are made by a Japanese artisan.

    After a long subway ride, we arrived at Roppongi, an area famous for their high end shops and expensive restaurants. One of the biggest buildings here has an observation deck with an amazing Tokyo city view. Unfortunately, due to the rain, we didn’t get the best view of the city. There is also a modern art museum on the 52nd floor. I absolutely loved all the architecture displays. Many 3D models of the most unique buildings in the world!

    Today ended with one of the best sushi restaurants in Tokyo. Every dish was so delicious and beautiful, with the most exquisite ingredients that’s available seasonally. We ordered a ten course meal and tasted many things for the first time in our lives. Have you ever heard of pink pepper? It’s so tiny yet full of flavors!

    Well, today is an expensive day. 😬
    Czytaj więcej