Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    I Just Blew In...

    May 26, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    ‘Chicago, Chicago, that toddlin’ town…’ so sang Judy Garland on the double LP (yes, LP!), Judy Live at Carnegie Hall, which was the first birthday present Campbell gave to me. At one point she forgets the lyrics, but keeps singing ‘…and I forgot the goddam words’. On arrival in Chicago as I exited the station, the first thing I saw was a bus destined for Cicero, and noted that the musical Chicago has just ended a run here - how cool would that have been?

    What a magnificent city this is. Situated on the shores of Lake Michigan, it has fabulous architecture and lakeside gardens giving it the air of a capital city. It is clean and safe - not a St Valentine’s Day massacre in sight (as in Sugar - one of my favourite shows). First stop for me was Millennium Park - a real buzzing atmosphere and family friendly where live bands play nightly in summer for free. Got photographed at Cloud Gate, the huge Bean sculpture - one of the many attractions in the park. Next went up the Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower) which was the tallest building in the world for 25 years. Plucked up courage to sit on the glass ledge on the 103rd floor - never again!
    Read more