Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Dallas - Texas

    June 5, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 21 °C

    Had a great sleep in a huge double room with a giant bathroom you could have swung a pussy or two in. The Hampton Inn and Suites had good facilities including a laundry (which I used) and a gym (which I did not). Unusually for American hotels, breakfast was included.

    After a hearty repast, I set off to spend the morning at Dallas’s top attraction - The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza. Spent almost 3 hours in this fascinating museum exploring the events leading up to and following the assassination of JFK on 22 November 1963 - over 55 years ago. I remember as a 10 year old standing in our kitchen in Easterhouse seeing my Mum upset as the news broke out on the radio. It was a very moving experience standing on the 6th floor spot where Lee Harvey Oswald fired the fatal shot (although the museum acknowledged the many other theories that exist even to this day).

    As the trains north of Dallas were still disrupted due to flooding, my only alternative was to go by Greyhound Bus to my next destination - Austin, Texas. Dallas Greyhound Terminal was packed, and it struck me that I was the only Caucasian there. Again a lot of homeless folk had congregated to escape from the heat and enjoy the air conditioning. One lady demonstrated considerable skill by holding a baby on one arm while removing two tee shirts and a bra from under her multicoloured top with the other. Well, it was hot.
    Read more