Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    The Sunshine State

    June 13, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    Had a lovely trip on The Silver Meteor - my last long train trip - from Washington DC to Orlando, Florida. Met a lovely couple in the next sleeping compartment. I heard the female’s accent and asked where she was from - ‘Cambuslang’ replied Pauline, a scientist who had lived in the States for 15 years but not lost her accent. Her boyfriend, Hector was a heating engineer from Mexico. We hit it off and had dinner together on board the train, and later Hector appeared with a bottle of red wine - a great nightcap!

    Passed through Georgia, and in the morning we arrived in Florida. Had breakfast with Pauline and Hector, and before I ‘detrained’ as they call it, in Orlando, I had lunch with a lovely older lady who gave me her card. She was a ‘Daughter of the American Revolution’ and gave lectures about the revolution, especially the Battle of Yorktown. She was amazed I had heard of it from the musical Hamilton, and was thrilled to listen to it on my phone.

    From Orlando Station I took the bus to the International Airport (a bargain 40 minute trip for $2). If was good to meet Campbell off his flight from Glasgow - so glad that this part worked out. Campbell tried out his new Uber app, and before long we arrived at our hotel for the next 3 nights.

    Had a great couple of days at Walt Disney World, visiting the Magic Kingdom, Hollywood Studios and Epcot. ‘What’s your favourite ride?’ I asked Campbell. ‘Its A Small World’ came the reply!
    Read more