Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Port Augusta

    April 20, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Well what a fantastic little port town. We enjoy exploring this little place, it wasn't very big but the things they had were amazing.

    The girls and I enjoyed the view from the Water Tower, well actually Lila not so much...she is terribly afraid of heights...anywho the view was amazing and the 3 flights of stairs were my workout for the week.

    We also ventured out to the Tunnel of Time at the Wadlata Outback Centre, I wasn't confident that it would be any good but I must say we were pleasantly surprised. The walk started at the beginning of time when the large animals ruled the lands to the dreamtime and how the aboriginals lived and survived. We learnt about all of the explorers that paved the way for civilisation, which included a great rail exhibit.

    The old way we communicated, switchboards, Morse code, pedal cart were pretty cool. The girls played with them for ages.

    There was so much to see and learn it was a great day for all.

    On our last day we decided to head to the Australian Arid Botancial Gardens. There weren't many flowers but we still had a great time learning about the different plants. The Sturt's Desert Peas were so beautiful, I didn't realise they were so small but they were just spectacular. If I could bottle them up and bring them home I would...though I'd probably just kill them 😫
    Read more