Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    A Grand Day Out

    July 20, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Apologies for these late posts. I hope no one off-facebook was worried! Thankfully, I did have the foresight to warn Mum and Dad that I'd be a little off radar whilst on my mini tour with Trek America. We are now cruising back along the interstate back to LA and I could not have had a more memorable 4 days.

    Following our night at Lake Havasu we set off for the Grand Canyon South Rim. Michael, our tour leader, presented us with bandanas with which we blind folded ourselves with on arrival at the park and he led us in a ' people train' to the edge of the Canyon - positioning each of us along the railing. I will post a separate footprint containing the video of this as I also want to share a whole host of jaw-dropping photographs with you. Needless to say the 'Grand reveal' was nothing short of breathtaking. The video thankfully doesn't pick up my foul language but I believe swear words were uttered.

    After spending some time taking all the obligatory selfies and photographs along the rim, we went to set up camp for the night. There were thunder storms in the area so we were keen to get the tents up before they hit.

    For those of you that are interested our tour guide taught us an interesting acronym for remembering and understanding how the Canyon was formed. This is DUDE which stands for Deposition, Uplifts, Downcutting and Erosion. I look forward to a more comprehensive discussion with Dad on this with his past geology studies!

    Thunder storms evaded and tents erected we returned to the Canyon rim for the most spectacular sunset I will probably ever see. Not only were we watching the sunset (whilst eating pizza I hasten to add - could it get better?) but we were watching the thunder storms across the other side of the Canyon all desperate to capture the spectacular lightning on camera. Thankfully I have a short video which I will also post separately if you'd like to see. It's quite small but you get the idea.

    Needless to say we were all very happy with our day's experience and there was so much more to come tomorrow!
    Read more