Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Shibuya and Ultra Japan Day 2 - Day 8

    September 17, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    Another full day in Tokyo without any solid plans! Yebin had plans to meet up with her friend in Japan, so the rest of us decided to check out Sunshine City in Ikebukuro. Sunshine City is a huge mall, probably most well known for their Pokemon store. Farheen and I planned to check it out, but when we arrived, it was a huge line up looping around the store! 🙈 Luckily when we lined up, it moved pretty quickly and we entered within 10 mins! Today was also Nipa’s last day on the trip with us so she arrived at the mall a bit earlier to check it out before her flight. Maya and Jenny decided to explore the mall on their own. Farheen and I entered the Pokémon store and it was so busy, but full of cute items! I didn’t end up buying anything so I left to go check out this other store Kiddy Land which sold so many cute merch items, like the famous Mofusand cat, Miffy items, Rilakkuma stuff and even Sumikko Guarashi themed things! 💕 Everything was so cute I wish I could buy more! I ended up buying a few things for my friends and family before meeting up with Farheen again! Since we had to leave a bit earlier to head over to Ultra Day 2, we decided to grab a quick snack/lunch before we left. I got a McDonald’s meal! Not too sure if it’s just me, but I love visiting McDonald’s in different countries since they sell food items unique to their own country! I bought a teriyaki burger, with fries and an Earl Grey Iced Lemon tea. I also bought their limited time dessert, called Tsukumi Pie. It had mochi and red bean. Let me tell you, it was the best McDonald’s pie I’ve ever had, I still think about it to this day! 😂 What was a bonus was that the whole meal was only ~¥800 (~$10CAD) which was amazing! I don’t think you can get a meal for less than $15 here in Canada 🥲 Farheen got a crepe and we both ate before heading over to Shibuya!
    We went by ourselves since the other girls got to visit the day before, while we were exploring Diver city mall. We took the trains towards Shibuya and arrived right at the famous Shibuya Scramble (the famous crosswalk that many talk about)! 🤩 What was super interesting was that there was a special festival happening in that area as we arrived. It’s called the Shibuya Konno Hachimangu Annual Festival. This is where several shrines come together and perform dances, as well as gather for a large parade. Once some of the paraders passed by, we saw the famous crosswalk in full! It was definitely packed full of people and tourists walking!
    One of the other main reasons why we wanted to go to Shibuya was that we wanted to visit the mega Don Quiote. It definitely lived up to its name, it was a full 9 floors! 🤩 Both of us took a little longer than expected shopping there. We did quite a bit of souvenir shopping as well as buying many snacks to bring back home! 😋 Overall we had a great haul! We made our way back to the hotel and picked up a quick halal burger lunch for Farheen.
    Yebin wasn’t feeling too great so she was resting in our room. I quickly changed and got dressed, then went to Farheen, Jen and Nipa’s room to finish getting ready. Ultra Day 2, our outfits were “Toronto” themed. I wore a Toronto Maple Leafs jersey that I borrowed from Farheen’s bf and she wore a Raptor’s jersey! I loved our outfits that day hehe! 🥰 Jen and Maya left to try the Gyukatsu restaurant near our hotel.
    Farheen and I left to the Ultra venue and saw the end half of Peggy Gou’s set. I’m just happy we saw her song (It Goes Like) Nanana! She was super cool!
    But the main DJ that everyone was dying to see (including us) was Skrillex. I’ll admit, I wish he had a longer set but it was still so amazing! Farheen and I didn’t make the same mistake as the day before where we went up close in the crowd, we just stayed near the back. We also were smarter and bought our drinks before we went to the main stage. 😁
    We left at about the same time as the night before and, again, got a quick convenience store dinner and went to eat at Farheen/Jen’s room.
    Great second day in Tokyo 💕
    Read more