Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Harajuku and Ginza 🛍️ - Day 9

    September 18, 2023 in Japan ⋅ 🌬 32 °C

    Today was our final full day in Tokyo. 🥲 Unfortunately Yebin still was not well so she stayed home to rest. Farheen also got a bit of a sunburn on her face, so she also stayed home to catch up on sleep. 😴
    Jenny, Maya and I decided to head over to the famous Harajuku area and the ever-so- busy Takeshita street. Today was especially hot so it was not fun walking with so many people around 🥵 One thing people always get in Harajuku are the crepes. Maya went off to check out a Jujitsu Kaisen cafe, so Jen and I began our search to find a good crepe place. There were a few stores along this street but they were all busy and had very long line ups. We settled on one and waited in line. It was so delicious since we got ice cream in our crepes, which was much needed in that hot weather. 🍦
    We met back up with Maya and we made our way out of the street. We decided to start heading over to Ginza. Ginza is a popular spot in Tokyo, known for shopping and the many high end stores. 🤑 Since Maya hadn’t eaten since breakfast, and Jen and I only had a crepe, we decided to go to a cafe for a quick snack. We stumbled upon a cute one, I can’t remember it’s name but I recall it was quite fancy. I got a iced matcha latte, Maya ordered an iced americano with a cheesecake, and Jen got an iced vanilla latte. It wasn’t cheap but it was very tasty! 😋
    After our snack, we left to find the one store I was looking forward to the entire trip, the 12 storey Uniqlo! 🤩 Since Jen had already been to the Uniqlo, she left to explore other stores in Ginza. Maya and I went into the store and we spent nearly 2 hours in it 😂 Every floor had something new! There were a few items I had in mind I wanted to buy, but I found a few other things that were much cheaper in Japan vs Canada. Overall, it was quite a good haul! When we left, we saw that the main street was closed to only pedestrians so it was fun walking on the road! Maya and I also went into GU, which is kind of like H&M mixed with Uniqlo. We bought a few things from here as well.
    Around this time, Yebin wasn’t feeling too great so Jen went back to the hotel to help take care of her. Maya and I stayed out as we wanted to check out Akihabara (the main anime district of Tokyo). We quickly went to Itoya (a famous stationary store) but left shortly after. We took the transit to Akihabara and went to this one anime building that sells all things related to anime and gaming. Jen had asked us to buy her a shojo manga (manga targeted towards women) from here, which we were able to find! 😄 Maya looked through the shelves as well and was telling me a bit more about different type of manga and anime (as I know literally nothing about either). 🤪
    As we made our way home, we were deciding what to eat for our last dinner in Japan. Not many places were open since it was already about 8pm. We were initially going to go for Japanese curry, but found this really cool spot that sold Okonomyaki. What was super unique about this spot was that each table had a little cooking areas and the servers made the dish right in front of us! We got these little spatulas as our eating utensils and scooped the okonomyaki right from the grill onto our plates! It was so delicious! We also ordered beer with our meal, I finally got to try Sapporo beer, which was very good! 😋 After dinner, we went to the convenience store to pick up a few more snacks and tried Coolio (vanilla ice cream). 🥰
    Some final notes of our trip in Japan: it was definitely one of the hottest trips I’ve ever been on - the humidity was no joke I literally had to buy a hand fan cuz I was sweating all the time, the mosquitoes are also weird in Japan - we all got bitten in Kyoto LOL and I got a very weird allergic reaction to it (my ankle was swollen for all of Tokyo 🫠), I will definitely be back soon since there are so many more things I haven’t done and want to do! 💕 Though it was short, my time in Japan will never be forgotten with these girlies! ❤️
    Read more