Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    My First Book Project Official Launch

    February 7, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 63 °F

    Well, I'm sick! woke up with a sore throat that I can't shake despite all my concoctions of teas, gargles and herbal & vitamin supplements. Of course, this means that I can't go back to my daughter's house for at least five days. Yesterday, I got them set up with spaghetti sauce and a big pot of chicken vegetable soup, so they will be good for a couple of days.

    It finally has warmed up to the 50's during the day with lows around 30 at night. The rain and cold will return in the next few days, so I'm thinking under the circumstances, I should return home. I'm paid through tomorrow morning so I plan to head south tomorrow. Depending on how I'm feeling, I may possibly do some hiking tomorrow because the weather will be nice. I just know my nose will be a leaky faucet though,, and that will not be fun on the trail.

    Besides cooking yesterday, I've been filling my days with working from the van and writing. I saw this quote today:

    "If you are working on something that you really care about, you don’t have to be pushed. The vision pulls you." –Steve Jobs

    That's the way I feel about writing. Today, I laid some very important groundwork for this book project. For some reason, my website, https://saraveda.com/ that I set up a couple of years ago for blogging my travel adventures and promoting local venues, was down. I realized this a week or so ago, but being without good documentation I was left in the dark on how to fix it. I had sent a few messages in contact forms without response.

    This morning while reviewing my finances in my budgeting app, I randomly stumbled upon a GoDaddy renewal that is scheduled to come up next month. Going to my credit card statement from one year ago, I was able to find a phone number and get everything fixed and access my account once again.

    Once live, I completely rehauled the travel and entertainment venue website into my writing and publishing website—all new content. After completing this, I set up my substack profile, posted my first post, and began my subscriber's list. Here's a link to the post and a button at the bottom where you can subscribe if you'd like to follow me on the progress of the book project: https://saraveda.substack.com/p/my-first-book-p…

    I've been able to network with some folks on the Writer's Facebook page and they have given me really good and encouraging feedback. Based on the feedback from the group, this book is a winner and I'm moving forward. I'm thinking I should find another group whose topic of interest aligns with my book topic. I think they could also give me great feedback.

    I did get outside in the sun a bit today, but still no hiking. Tonight is a condo Zoom meeting which I must attend and get dressed up for since it's a meet and greet for the new candidates running for the board... which I am one of. I'm already starting to sound hoarse and squeaky, Well,, time for another salt water gargle and a tissue.

    I think I will be home for Super Bowl.
    Read more