Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Enchanted Eucalyptus Forest

    March 26 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 52 °F

    We thought we were walking 26.9 km today but it seems like it's going to be more than that

    I have my phone in airplane mode most of the time to avoid data roaming charges, so I'm oblivious to where I am and where I'm going. Which is okay.

    The group separated today into 3 groups, not on purpose; it just happened. I ended up in the last group probably because i was taking so many pictures. Comparing stories later, it's crazy how our routes and experiences differed.

    We ended up on a forest trail surrounded by eucalyptus trees. The moment we stepped in the fragrance embraced and surrounded us. The bark of these trees were peeling down to reveal the most beautiful colors in the bark.

    We came across a waterfall as well. The whole experience was magical and revived me to keep walking.

    As I was walking and trying to do the math about how many kilometers had been walked and how many were left, it just wasn't adding up for me. I felt something was definitely off, but regardless, as long as we were headed in the right direction, that was all that mattered.

    As we exited the enchanted forest, we were tested with a hard decision. Which way do we go? The signs pointed in multiple directions. I don't have service here, so I let them figure it out. This is so not like me as I'm usually the one reading the maps and sorting the directions.

    Anyway, who knows what happened. But we are so grateful for the spaces we experienced even if they weren't the most direct way.
    Read more