Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    My Daddy's Stride

    March 27 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 43 °F

    These are some of the things that i think about when walking...

    Dani and Donna both had 45k steps yesterday, but I had just over 40k. Yet we walked the same distance.

    So today, Donna and I counted our steps in the same period of time at the same speed of walking. I had 3 percent fewer steps than she did.

    That math still doesn't add up... so I ponder this. How do these apps figure our steps and distance? When I look it up, it says that accelerometers can be off by 2%. I figure, besides having long strides, I must walk softly and not move my body much when I'm walking.

    So my thoughts trail off... What happens to my body if I carry myself in a different alignment? What happens if I swing my hips more when I walk? Ah, that makes my back feel better. What if I run out of storage on my phone and can't take more pictures? Are there any snakes in Spain? ... it goes on and on. I find myself observing my thoughts from the outside.

    Today, I walked 6.2 miles, 10 km.

    I'm picking up some Spanish, reading signs and menus. I learned a new phrase today. "de puta madres"... our taxi driver kept saying it over and over. It's foul language for sure, but used in a certain context, it becomes a way of expressing that something is f'n awesome. Spaniards cuss a lot, I hear, in contrast to Latinos.

    I left my really nice double outlet converter at the first hotel. Today, I picked up another. Got here to the hotel, and discovered that it's for a Spanish native traveling abroad and does me no good.

    Dinner was nice. I had hake and vegetables. I'm hoping to get a good night's sleep tonight. I haven't been sleeping well. Took a benadryl tonight.

    As Chivas
    Read more