Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Woodbridge - Day 15

    May 5, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Lazy day at home for Georgia and I, and Jane has gone for some retail therapy in the local village. By mid afternoon the cousins arrive for the Last Hurrah before we all head off on our separate adventures! This is possibly the last time all of us will be in the same house together, so there is a palpable sense of joy and excitement. Ginny has bought half the local gourmet shop, Andrew English and I have loaded up with wine, and Jenny and David are on Dinner duty. There are 12 of us including, Aunty Joan and Andrew McKee's new partner Lyn. Everyone is in high sprints and as usual the conversation flows easily! We have a tremendous meal and the night transcends into raucous laughter as we reminisce about the children's show Captain Pugwash. Ian is trying to convince us that there were the characters Roger the Cabin Boy, Seaman Stains and Master Bates!
    I do some Googling to find that this is a furphy, that was reported by the Gaurdian, who were consequently sued by the developers. As a footnote they did say the Captain Pugwash came from Australian slang, so I got on to the Urban Dictionary as none of us Aussies had heard that term. For those of a curious nature and who are not easily offended, I will leave it to your own research! Suffice it to say I got to the point in definition 3, of 7 definitions where I couldn't speak I was laughing so much! What a great night, I'm going to miss these guys!
    Read more