Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Krems an der Donau

    May 6, 2023 in Austria ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    My first camping destination. Roughly 53 miles from Vienna, I thought I’d get a good start because I needed to move! The weather was initially perfect. 60’s, overcast and a nice cool spring air, but that didn’t last long. Turns out I was in for a taste of Austrian rollercoaster weather. Throughout the day it would go from sunny one minute to pouring down rain the next. My shoes got soaked through quickly, so I decided it would be better to embrace the wet and put on my sandals. Luckily the rains never lasted more than 20 or 30 minutes, but in that time I would get drenched. Around lunch time I pulled off the bike trail for a snack and a beer. Fortunately the next storm rolled through while I was under cover because this time it was thunder and wind. I planned to stop for one beer… but watching the rains come down, I decided I’d have two. I eventually made it to camp only to find out they were full. But alas, there was a patch of grass with my name on it, for the affordable price of 7 euro. But the view was a million. The old town of Krems with the historic remains of the Durnstein Castle perched above. Not bad.Read more