Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Hiking with a buddy

    May 22, 2023 in Austria ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    I met a nice fellow in camp my second day there. After chatting briefly as we were both about to hit the hay, he offered me a cup of coffee in the morning, which I happily accepted. The next morning we got to chatting over a cup of instant coffee, sharing our routes so far, lamenting over the rain from the previous week and a bit about ourselves. He was motorcycle camping from his home in Cologne Germany, and had started learning English 5 months ago. He planned to leave that morning but I tempted him with a hike up the valley, which apparently he couldn’t refuse. So he ended up joining me on the day hike I had planned for the afternoon! We hopped the bus up the valley, a bit of a later start than I intended, but I was happy to have some company! We were trying to make it to an alpine lake, but had set a hard turn around at 2:15 so we didn’t miss the last bus. Unfortunately we didn’t quite make it to the lake, but the views were amazing!Read more