Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Cruising dusty Kampot 🛵

    January 20 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    My plans for today required a bit of driving around, so I rented a scooter 🛵
    The first stop was a bit outside of town, at the "office" of Climbodia, where I've booked a climbing & exploring tour 🧗🏻‍♀️🤠
    We first started with a short climb up a little mountain, followed by going along the cliff by a via ferrata before it was time for abseiling (yes, that's actually what it's called) back to the ground. 💪🏽 We then entered quiet a big cave, which we traversed walking and crawling an all fours and sometimes even on the belly 😆
    The last 1.5 hours we spent with rock climbing 🧗🏼‍♀️⛰️
    I really enjoyed the tour, it was loads of fun 🤩
    I got back on the moto in the early afternoon and went along VERY dusty and bumpy dirtroads to one of the pepper farms, that are typical for this region. 🌱
    Kampot pepper is a very regulated speciality and is the only pepper that has an PGI (Protected Geographic Indication). 🤓
    A volunteer showed me around the plantation and gave me a tasting afterwards - I was really surprised about the varietes of taste pepper can have! One speciality is pepper tea, which was really nice! 🍵
    After having lunch there and enjoying the tranquility of the place, I went back to town, not without making a quick stop at the salt fields of Kampot as well 😀
    In the evening I met up with Ilona for dinner, as she has arrived in Kampot today. 🍽🥰

    Soundtrack of the day:
    The dirt whispered - Rise Against
    https://open.spotify.com/track/5CAaWuGhF4XvUm2l…
    Read more